Wednesday, March 28, 2012

Possible federal courthouse closings with Athens on the list

Bankruptcy cases are usually filed in the federal court division where the debtor resides. The Athens Division serves Clarke, Elbert, Franklin, Greene, Hart, Madison, Morgan, Oconee, Oglethorpe, and Walton counties. News stories are reporting that the Athens courthouse is on a long list of courthouses that could be closed to save costs. I know that this could complicate my bankruptcy practice and inconvenience my bankruptcy clients, though I am not sure of the full effect that this might have on our region. Imagine living in Hartwell and receiving a summons for jury duty in Macon, a drive that could be well over two and a half hours when coming to Athens would have been far enough. Here are some of the stories covering the issue:

No comments:

Post a Comment